School Information

Sharla Mackinnon
, Principal
Pam King, Vice Principal


Crossroads School opened to students in September, 1996 with the official opening taking place on October 18, 1996. Crossroads replaced the old Burriss and Cornerbrook schools and is the public elementary school for LaVallee Township as well as Naicatchewenin First Nation. The school is home to approximately 130 students from Early Years to Grade 8 as well as approximately 31 staff members. The facility is shared with Country View Daycare.


Crossroads is largely built on one level, providing easy access for those with disabilities. The school consists of 2 Early Years classrooms and 6 grade 1-8 classrooms. It also has an elementary school-sized gymnasium and a Learning Resource Room which houses a computer lab and library. In the centre of the school are the administrative offices, a teacher work room, professional learning room and a staff lounge. All classrooms are equipped with SMARTBoard technology. The gymnasium also includes a fully functioning kitchen area with counter access to both the gym and the Early Years classroom. The school has a very large grass-covered playground area with a variety of playground equipment. Through cooperation with neighbouring property owners and the work of a few dedicated community members a network of cross country trails have been established through the surrounding bush immediately west of the school. This is the venue for the annual Rainy River District Athletic Association Cross Country Run event in which over 300 runners from across the Rainy River District participate.

If you are planning on attending a community or school event, and need special accommodations, please contact the school. We will be happy to assist you.

Staff Listing
Teaching assignments for the school year 2023 - 2024 are as follows:

We are fortunate to have the following dedicated staff with skills in many areas to support our school and students for the 2023-2024 school year:

  • Ms. M. Chiefson
  • Mrs. P. VanHeyst
  • Mrs. S. Herman
  • Mrs. D. Allan
  • Ms. C. Smith
  • Mrs. D. George 
  • Ms. L. Smith
  • Ms. M. Smith
  • Ms. S. Smith
  • Ms. A. Mandamin
  • Mrs. A. Vanderaa
  • Mrs. L. Woodgate
  • Mrs. A. Fallon
  • Mrs. R. Angus
  • Ms. N. London
  • Mrs. L. Mutz, Communication Assistant
  • Mrs. D. Donaldson, Library Assistant 
  • Mrs. K. Gross, Secretary 
  • Mr. D. Olson and Mrs. T. Hagen, Custodians
We're looking forward to another AMAZING year!